Skip to content

2011: the year that almost wasn’t

December 31, 2011

I am a woman of many words. But words are beginning to fail me as we approach that most arbitrary, hopeful and hollow promise of new beginnings, the hour when one year becomes another. Each of the past 364 days has dealt me struggles both large and small. I believe I am equally blessed and cursed with a mind that experiences the world more keenly than most, and one that both readily and randomly casts shadows where there should be light.

When light penetrates though, it is bright. I have been blessed with the love of my family and many friends this year, both new and old. Some of them saved my life. All of them made my life worth living. It pains me to reflect too much on the year that almost wasn’t as I begin to look forward, with real hope emerging from a darkness that I once thought interminable. Though my mind and my words tell a story of darkness, my pictures tell a story of bright light. The evidence is there, it’s incontrovertible. The camera is tricky, but it does not lie. This is how I wish to remember 2011.

Small sightseers, big river

Year of the flood

Completely wet with liquid light, Satiate, Bangalow

Heartstrings

Tribute

Speed skaters

Clash of the tartans, Yamba

Heavy metal drummer

Under the overpass

28th birthday treat

Nice stems

Curryfest princess, Woolgoolga

Colour and motion, Curryfest, Woolgoolga

Brooms Bowlo

Susan Island, Clarence River

Log chop, Glenreagh

Chicken terrine, orange and fennel flatbread, bread and butter pickles & onion marmalade (or the best meal I've ever made)

Middle Earth, Chatsworth Island

New David, New Italy

In fair Verona, where we lay our scene... (New Italy)

John Arkan, Gate to Plate, Grafton Showground

Farmer's daughter, Grafton farmers' market

Liestal, by the seaside

Little wing

Bird feeding, Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary

The old man and the sea

Grommets

Dangerous waters

Try to catch the deluge in a paper cup

Tiny dancer

Greek goddess

Family Christmas

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2011 16:50

    Just lovely. That bird photo in particular is incredible.

    Hope next year is a good one for you xx

  2. Sophie permalink
    December 31, 2011 17:49

    Beautiful photos felicity – you’re a talent

    • felixexplody permalink*
      January 8, 2012 19:40

      Thanks Soph, glad you likey! x

  3. December 31, 2011 20:54

    Wonderful stuff – can I ask a dumb question? did you take all the shots? xxx please tweet me your reply (or I will miss it) x

  4. January 1, 2012 00:26

    wow! the princess shot is stunning! Happy New Year!

    • felixexplody permalink*
      January 8, 2012 19:41

      Thanks so much! She was beautiful, a photographer’s dream 🙂

  5. Liam permalink
    January 1, 2012 00:47

    And don’t forget your latest photographic achievement: The red-tongue lizard of iScream!

  6. January 1, 2012 16:45

    The world is a better place with you in it. Take care and thanks for the photgraphic pleasures. Love from Sharron

    • felixexplody permalink*
      January 8, 2012 19:41

      Thanks Sharron, look forward to many more morning rides this year 🙂 x

  7. Simon permalink
    January 1, 2012 21:16

    Fabulous photos Felicity. May 2012 shine on you brightly. And remember to be your own sun. x

    • felixexplody permalink*
      January 8, 2012 19:42

      Bless you, good sir. x

Leave a Reply

