Skip to content

Timberrrrrrrrrr!

August 2, 2011

Sadly my creative juices haven’t been flowing lately; at least, I think I have been expending them on resurrecting my musical talent instead of arranging words in a pleasing fashion. Though I also haven’t had the camera out much lately, I did manage to take some photographs of an exciting excursion at the weekend: the 7th Annual Glenreagh Timber Festival!

Glenreagh is currently known as that town near where Russell Crowe lives sometimes, and is soon to be known as that town with the giant statue of a dog, that may be part dog, part kangaroo (no pictures, sorry). I was invited to check out the action by my wonderful friends Mrs and Mrs Leicester and their family, and we spent a lovely afternoon picnicking in the sun and watching large men wield axes with our new friends the Friendly Timbermillers.

The sport of woodchopping is a lot more structured and elaborate than I expected. It’s not just a bunch of blokes hacking into lumps of wood. There are rules. I don’t know what they are, but they seemed to be very complicated. The whole thing reminded me of a Freemason-style secret society, complete with handshake and a uniform of singlets, white pants and white dunlop volleys. OK, I made up the handshake bit, but it could be true. I did not make up the Dunlop Volleys. These were ubiquitous. I wonder if they were steel caps.

Apart from the dazzling array of champion axe-men, there were sheep dog trials, pony rides and a humungous jumping castle which was very popular with the four-year-old. Here are some of the highlights of my day.

Fancy looking sheep

Working puppy

The entertainment

Floss fairy

Loads of logs

The axeman

Fence post splitting in under 5 minutes

Late in the day

Specialty footwear

11 Comments leave one →
  1. sue webber permalink
    August 3, 2011 08:42

    Did the mulcher come afterwards to clear up?

    • felixexplody permalink*
      August 7, 2011 16:11

      I assume so! Axmen are renowned for their environmental credentials you know.

  2. Eileen permalink
    August 3, 2011 09:06

    I wonder if they’re the same men I saw at Maclean Show? 🙂

    • felixexplody permalink*
      August 7, 2011 16:12

      They probably are, I think these blokes were regulars on the competition circuit.

  3. Hawcroft permalink
    August 3, 2011 10:27

    Its always the Volleys isn’t it!
    Always nice to get an update from the world of Flick.
    :)xx

    • felixexplody permalink*
      August 7, 2011 16:15

      Nice to hear from you too Bec xxx

  4. August 3, 2011 17:07

    Love the puppy! Yes, wondering what they do with the wood after the chopping?

    • felixexplody permalink*
      August 7, 2011 16:15

      Pup was cute. Will probably grow up into annoying cattle dog.

  5. August 3, 2011 19:32

    Does that Axemans singlet say Superfine Wood ? if so, we now know how it gets to be “superfine”. Love the photos, particularly puppy and sheep, so cute.

    • felixexplody permalink*
      August 7, 2011 16:16

      Thanks Sharron 🙂

  6. August 18, 2011 08:11

    Because when I think ‘Good TIme’ i think ‘Logs’

Leave a Reply

