Skip to content

This little piggy went to market…

April 8, 2010

After more than a week of living south of the border, today I finally made it to the Adelaide Central Market, the city’s culinary heart (as the name suggests). This market alone is reason enough to visit Adelaide. Sorry Melbourne and Sydney (I can’t speak for the other capitals): ur doin it rong. Almost anything that is even remotely edible is available here. I mean that literally, not hyperbolically. You can even buy possum meat. That being as it may, I was not in the mood for small mammals today. My mission was to visit the specialty mushroom stall to pick up some shrooms for a risotto. I didn’t have time to explore properly (I need to put aside at least a day for that I think), but here are some glimpses of Adelaide’s offerings.

Bird on a wire

Sweet pea

You're just a pansy!

Fruity

Trumpet

Belle fleur

Bittersweet Bolero

The good kind of stinky

Fruit of the loins

I'll just take a MEAT SALAD thanks! *dies of awesome followed by heart disease*

Poles apart

Das ist mein Fleisch!

Bean counter

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 18:50

    Thankfully I have read this just before making dinner – those photos have definitely made me hungry.

    However, I must respectfully disagree – Melbourne does it RIGHT (imho) when it comes to markets. And being a born & bred Melbourne girl I can’t possibly be biased;)

    • felixexplody permalink*
      April 8, 2010 19:00

      You’re right, I was probably being a bit harsh there. But for a city of its size, Adelaide’s markets and the local reverence for them is astonishing!

  2. Sharny boom permalink
    April 8, 2010 19:02

    Yeah Flick! Have you been to Vic Markets yet?

    • felixexplody permalink*
      April 8, 2010 19:04

      Yeah yeah, the thing I don’t like about Vic though is all the crappy shit like at Paddy’s. The food is primo though.

      • Sharny boom permalink
        April 8, 2010 19:11

        rad photos btw

  3. Katie permalink
    April 8, 2010 20:03

    WOW…think I need a ‘business’ trip to visit the market…AMAZING. I think we could live in there somewhere for the rest of our lives very happily. Alhtough I may need a trip here or there to the farm 🙂

  4. Horatio Bunker permalink
    April 8, 2010 21:10

    It may just be a christmas specialty, but some of the tastiest treats at Adelaide market serve behind the counters. Especially at the eastern-european stores… Pics of those please?

    • Horatio Bunker permalink
      April 8, 2010 21:13

      Wow, that doesn’t read so well… I’m just going to take my trenchcoat and slink out.

  5. Richard permalink
    April 8, 2010 23:53

    Great post on a much loved icon of our great state and city – tis actually the most visited spot in SA – not sure if that’s a reflection on everything else or testement to how f..ing good it is. As a parochial SA resident hoping it’s the later

  6. Aston permalink
    April 9, 2010 00:12

    Adelaide’s market sounds very centralised. You can probably hunt down these kind of stuff in Sydney, but they are really over the place.

  7. El Nicko permalink
    April 9, 2010 13:01

    Stunning photos with pun-filled captions- nice work! Miss those markets… xN

    • felixexplody permalink*
      April 9, 2010 15:40

      I don’t think the man I’m staying with at the moment got the memo about puns being the lowest form of humour. I think he’s having a bad influence on me!

  8. pommiefoodie permalink
    April 13, 2010 16:41

    I agree about the adelaide market – I always go when I’m visiting rellies. Trouble is getting it all back to Sydney – ho hum. I also love the Harndorf Mettwurst place (I think they have a stall at the market??) – esp their kangaroo mettwurst which is out of this world!

Leave a Reply

